The aim of the conference

The Conference aims to create an open platform for discussing topical issues relating to the socioeconomic development of the Russian Arctic, as well as international cooperation in this region. It will serve as a platform for coordinating the efforts of international institutions, public authorities, and the business community in Russia and abroad to ensure the stable development of the Arctic.

  • “The Arctic, despite its inaccessibility, isolation and harsh climate, has tremendous natural potential. The minerals extracted within the Arctic zone, their confirmed reserves and forecast resources constitute the main part of the Russian Federation’s mineral and raw material foundations.” Yegor Borisov, Head of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)
  • “The Russian Federation focuses particular attention on developing the country’s Arctic Zone and expanding its presence there. Under today’s conditions, the state’s interest in investing in the Arctic is acquiring major strategic and economic significance.” Roman Kopin, Governor of the Chukotka Autonomous Area
  • “One of the key factors in developing the Arctic is development of the North Sea Route. It has a number of competitive advantage compared to other routes, including via the Suez Canal and railways. Its length means not only time en route can be saved, but also, as a consequence, the cost of fuel and other related expenditures.” Nikolay Kharitonov, Chairman of the State Duma Committee on Regional Policy and Issues of the North and Far East
  • “The investment potential of Europe’s far north is great – over EUR 195 billion”. Timo Rautajoki, President and Chief Executive Officer, Lapland Chamber of Commerce (Finland)
  • “The purpose of the dialogue between all interested partners is to develop forms and models of collaboration under which each of the parties finds its own role and place in the complex and multifaceted structure of international Arctic co-operation.” Artur Chilingarov, Special Representative of the President of the Russian Federation for international co-operation in the Arctic and Antarctic, President of the Interregional Public Organisation “Association of Polar Explorers”
  • "Russia’s experience of merchant shipping in the Arctic seas goes back hundreds of years. Meanwhile, Sovcomflot’s work in support of major Arctic energy projects such as Prirazlomnoye, Varandey, Novy Port and Yamal LNG is promoting further development of the Northern Sea Route. We are convinced that the role of this vital Russian transport artery within the Arctic region will grow consistently. It is anticipated that, by 2017, the volume of freight carried along the Northern Sea Route will be higher than the historical maximum and, in 2020, might exceed it by more than three times." Sergey Frank, President and CEO, Sovcomflot
  • “2016 is the Year of Security in Gazprom Neft. Today, we are focusing particularly on the security culture in which each individual senses their personal responsibility for their own safety, safety of the environment and safekeeping of the unique ecosystems of the Arctic shelf waters.” Andrey Patrushev, Deputy CEO, Shelf Projects Development, Gazprom Neft
  • “From the perspective of international co-operation in reproduction and extraction of minerals, considering the extent, landscape and resource diversity of the Russian Arctic zone, the artificial economic barriers impede mutually beneficial international co-operation, the results of which might give a substantial impetus to development of world science and industry.” Sergey Donskoy, Minister of Natural Resources and the Environment of Russian Federation
  • “The Murmansk Region is today fully prepared to be the pilot region for setting up on its territory Russia’s support zone in the Arctic and to test the proposed approach to managing the Arctic territories.” Marina Kovtun, Governor of the Murmansk Region
  • “Shipping of the output from the oil and gas and ore-mining industries will provide the main freight flow to the Northern Sea Transport Corridor. It provides the impetus to develop icebreakers, the auxiliary fleet, and navigation support.” Mikhail Grigoryev, Director of GECON and member of the Scientific Council under the Security Council of the Russian Federation
INFORMATION PARTNERS

ЦЕЛЬ КОНФЕРЕНЦИИ

Создание открытой площадки для обсуждения актуальных вопросов социально-экономического развития Арктической зоны Российской Федерации и международного сотрудничества в регионе. Конференция станет платформой для координации усилий международных организаций, органов государственной власти и бизнес-сообщества из России и зарубежных стран для обеспечения стабильного развития Арктики.

  • «Арктика, несмотря на ее труднодоступность, изолированность, суровый климат, кроет в себе колоссальный природный потенциал. Добываемые в пределах Арктики полезные ископаемые, их разведанные запасы и прогнозные ресурсы составляют основную часть минерально-сырьевого фундамента Российской Федерации». Борисов Егор Афанасьевич, глава Республики Саха (Якутия)
  • «Российская Федерация уделяет особое внимание освоению АЗРФ, расширению присутствия в ней. В современных условиях интерес государства к инвестициям в Арктике приобретает важное стратегическое и экономическое значение». Копин Роман Валентинович, губернатор Чукотского автономного округа
  • «Одним из ключевых факторов освоения Арктики является развитие Северного морского пути. Он имеет ряд конкурентных преимуществ по сравнению с другими трассами, в том числе с Суэцким каналом и железнодорожными магистралями. Его протяженность дает возможность сэкономить не только время в пути, но и, как следствие, затраты на топливо и прочие сопряженные расходы». Николай Харитонов, председатель комитета Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации по региональной политике и проблемам Севера и Дальнего Востока
  • «Инвестиционный потенциал Европейского Крайнего Севера велик — более чем 195 миллиардов евро». Тимо Раутайоки, Президент и исполнительный директор Торговой палаты Лапландии (Финляндия)
  • «Мировая общественность стремится сохранить Арктику как зону мирного сотрудничества. Мы все осознаем свою ответственность за будущее этого региона. Задача диалога между всеми заинтересованными партнерами – вырабатывать такие формы и модели взаимодействия, при которых каждая из сторон найдет свою роль и место в сложной и многогранной структуре международной арктической кооперации.» Артур Чилингаров, Специальный представитель Президента РФ по международному сотрудничеству в Арктике и Антарктике, президент Межрегиональной общественной организации «Ассоциация полярников»
  • «Опыт российского коммерческого судоходства в арктических морях исчисляется столетиями. Работа «Совкомфлота» в рамках крупных арктических проектов по добыче углеводородов «Приразломное», «Варандей», «Новый порт», «Ямал СПГ» способствует дальнейшему развитию Севморпути. Мы уверены, что роль этой важнейшей российской транспортной артерии Арктического региона будет последовательно возрастать. Ожидается, что уже в 2017 году объем перевозок по Севморпути будет выше исторических максимумов, а в 2020 году может превысить их более чем в три раза.» Сергей Франк, генеральный директор, председатель Правления ПАО «Совкомфлот»
  • «2016 год является Годом безопасности в компании “Газпром нефть”. Сегодня мы уделяем повышенное внимание культуре безопасности, в которой каждый чувствует личную ответственность за собственную безопасность, безопасность окружающих и сохранность уникальных экосистем морских акваторий арктического шельфа». Андрей Патрушев, заместитель генерального директора по развитию шельфовых проектов, ПАО «Газпром нефть»
  • «С точки зрения международного сотрудничества санкции являются серьезным сдерживающим фактором. Учитывая протяженность, ландшафтное и ресурсное разнообразие российской Арктической зоны, искусственные экономические барьеры создают препятствия для взаимовыгодного сотрудничества, результаты которого могли бы дать существенный импульс развитию глобальной науки и мировой промышленности.» Сергей Донской, Министр природных ресурсов и экологии Российской Федерации
  • «Мурманская область на сегодняшний день в полной мере готова выступить пилотным регионом по созданию на своей территории опорной зоны России в Арктике и опробовать предложенный подход к управлению арктическими территориями». Марина Ковтун, Губернатор Мурманской области
  • «Вывоз продукции нефтегазового и горнорудного комплексов обеспечит основной грузопоток в акватории Северного морского транспортного коридора. Он инициирует развитие ледокольного и вспомогательного флота, навигационного обеспечения». Григорьев Михаил Николаевич, Директор ООО «Гекон», член научного совета при Совете Безопасности Российской Федерации
ИНФОРМАЦИОННЫЕ ПАРТНЁРЫ